Posted by: theoriginalmiss | November 21, 2016

Renewal: an instance of resuming something after an interruption.

Renewal Poster.jpg

This series of digital images that I am working on has the descriptive working title of Shadow Selfies. They arose naturally out of my street photography when I noticed my shadow appearing in the work, often as a strong presence. Shadows are a frequent central theme in my street photography, due to my fascination with repetition and replication. These simulacra of me though – my shadows –  allow me to explore, visually, what is important to me, to my life and to try and understand the fleeting nature of being and the unpredictability of it all, which seems fitting as I undergo cancer treatment.  Through this series, I  explore issues surrounding the dark side of life: temporality and mortality.   Indeed shadows, shade and darkness have a mantle of doom in western culture for they are an absence of light and light is the representation of all things godly and good. Yet Carl Jung saw the shadow as the unconscious mind, merely a part of us waiting in the dark, waiting to be merged at some stage into our personality, like how I imagine emerging with this experience of cancer permeating my life, my new normal.

shadow-selfies-i-iv

Leave a Reply

Categories

