Posted by: theoriginalmiss | November 10, 2012

La Vie Artistique, 2004

La Vie Artistique, 2004

I was reminded of this painting recently when I visited the new abode of the friend that bought it: it took prime position at their entrance way and looked stunning.

When asked to do a commission, I usually panic and produce at least two potential paintings for the buyer. In this case it paid off as both paintings were sold to separate people.

Back then my practice revolved around finding a balance between the colour and the composition of the work: the “flow” of the piece, as it were. My painting was “performed” in a very free flowing style, often with larger brush strokes produced by taping two brushes together. The enmeshing and layering of brush strokes often got me into a real mess, visually speaking, and then, with nothing to lose and after consistent application on my part, often a stunning piece of work was allowed to emerge .

I struggled somewhat, and I believe finally won, with this one, as evidenced by the rather tongue in cheek title. I am finding it satisfying to revisit and share my old works or art!

Leave a Reply

Categories

